For our 2019 stamp we have chosen to celebrate the 90th anniversary of two special events for women pilots.

The first Women’s cross-country Air Race was held in 1929. From Sunday, August 18 – Monday, August 26, 19 women flew solo from Santa Monica, California to Cleveland, Ohio – a distance of over 3,000 statute miles or 2,600 nautical miles. By the end of the race most of these women had developed a comradeship which led to the formation of the Ninety-Nines on November 2, 1929, named for the number of its charter members. During the past 90 years has grown to an organization of over 6000 members in several different countries.

How do we show air racing on a stamp? We have chosen the three Canadian women pilots who have flown in the most air races – Dorothy Rungeling, Adele Fogle and Daphne Schiff.

Dorothy Rungeling flew in several transcontinental women’s air races in the 1950s and 60s, as well as the Women’s International Air Race to Cuba and the Canadian Governor General’s Cup. She was also instrumental in having the Women’s Transcontinental Air Race terminate or begin in Welland three times during the 50s and 60s. She was active in the Ninety-Nines as well, serving as Governor early in the 50s.

Adele Fogle and Daphne Schiff have flown in 4 Air Race Classics. They also flew with Margo McCutcheon from New York to Paris and with Margaret Ringenberg in a Montreal to Montreal race around the world. And then they raced around South America.

We are grateful to graphic artist Stephanie Loback for generously allowing us to use the logo she designed for the Niagara Central Dorothy Rungeling airport terminus for this year’s Air Race Classic.

We are particularly grateful for to Suzanne Wiltshire for her ability to stitch together onto a small postage stamp, pictures of Dorothy, Adele and Daphne as well as Stephanie’s logo.

The stamp was launched on Friday, June 21 at the Niagara Central Dorothy Rungeling Airport as the 2019 air racers finished their race.

We all thank the Stamp committee members, Marilyn Dickson, Suzanne Wiltshire, Bev Fraser and Jean Franklin-Hancher.

Franklin Hancher for each doing their jobs so diligently.

Comments are closed.

  • Archived Posts